The production of Volume 31 of the Disarmament Yearbook, like previous productions, continued to be a team effort involving the time and energy of many members of the Office for Disarmament Affairs. After he took up his duties in early July, the High Representative for Disarmament Affairs, Sergio Duarte, assumed overall direction of its production. The guidance received before his arrival from the Officer-in-Charge and Director of the Office, Hannelore Hoppe, was invaluable.
Many thanks go to the following writers and contributors from the respective units of the Office: Georgia Adams, Kerstin Bihlmaier, Kristin Jenssen, Soo-Hyun Kim, Gabriele Kraatz-Wadsack, Thomas Markram, Myrna Peña and Curtis Raynold (Weapons of Mass Destruction Branch); António Évora, Nazir Kamal, Pamela Maponga, Takashi Mashiko and Hideki Matsuno, Silvia Mercogliano (Conventional Arms Branch); Michael Cassandra (Monitoring, Database and Information Branch); Timothy Caughley, Melissa Hersh, Richard Lennane, Valère Mantels, Piers Millet, Vivian Njume-Ebong, Bantan Nugroho, Peter Kolarov and Jerzy Zaleski (Geneva Branch); Agnès Marcaillou, Susanne Noren, Carina Van Vliet and Xiaoyu Wang (Regional Disarmament Branch); Amanda Cowl, Péricles Gasparini Alves and Mélanie Régimbal (Lima Centre); Ibrahima Diouf and Tsutomu Ishiguri (Kathmandu Centre); Ivor Fung and Abraham Sewonet Abatneh (Lomé Centre); and Randy Rydell (Office of the High Representative). Deep appreciations also go to Peter Crail of the Centre for Nonproliferation Studies of the Monterey Institute of International Studies who contributed in drafting several sections of the Yearbook.
Special thanks go to the core team members: Elizabeth Scaffidi for written contributions, research assistance and language editing, Cecile Dacudao for desktop publishing, proofreading and web conversion, and Won-Hyuk Im for proofreading.

Tam Chung
New York, August 2007