The Department of Disarmament Affairs is pleased to dedicate the present edition of the Disarmament Yearbook, covering activities in the field of disarmament, non-proliferation and arms control at the United Nations during its commemorative 60th year, to the International Atomic Energy Agency and its Director General, Mohamed ElBaradei, and  congratulate them for having received the prestigious Nobel Peace Prize 2005.

In granting the award, the Norwegian Nobel Committee lauded the Director General and the Agency "for their efforts to prevent nuclear energy from being used for military purposes and to ensure that nuclear energy for peaceful purposes is used in the safest possible way".