United Nations Open-ended Informal Consultative Process on Oceans and the Law of the Sea

Eighteenth meeting New York, 15-19 May 2017

List of Participants

(based on the submission of registration information)

ALGERIA

ANGOLA

AUSTRALIA

AUSTRIA

AZERBAIJAN

BANGLADESH

BARBADOS

BELGIUM

BRUNEI DARUSSALAM

BULGARIA

BURKINA FASO

CAMEROON

CANADA

CHILE

CHINA

COLOMBIA

COSTA RICA

CUBA

CYPRUS

CZECH REPUBLIC

DOMINICAN REPUBLIC

ECUADOR

EL SALVADOR

ERITREA

ESTONIA

EUROPEAN UNION

GHANA

GREECE

GUATEMALA

HONDURAS

ICELAND

INDIA

INDONESIA

IRAQ

ITALY

JAMAICA

JAPAN

KUWAIT

LEBANON

MADAGASCAR

MALAYSIA

MALDIVES

MALTA

MARSHALL ISLANDS

MAURITANIA (Islamic Republic of)

MAURITIUS

MEXICO

MICRONESIA (Federated States of)

MONACO

MOROCCO

NAMIBIA

NAURU

NEPAL

NICARAGUA

NEW ZEALAND

NIGERIA

NORWAY

OMAN

PALAU

PANAMA

PAPUA NEW GUINEA

PARAGUAY

PERU

PHILIPPINES

REPUBLIC OF KOREA

ROMANIA

RUSSIAN FEDERATION

SAINT VINCENT AND THE GRENADINES

SINGAPORE

SLOVAKIA

SPAIN

SRI LANKA

SUDAN

SWEDEN

THAILAND

TIMOR-LESTE

TOGO

TONGA

TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO

TUVALU

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

VIET NAM

NON-MEMBER STATES HAVING RECEIVED A STANDING INVITATION TO PARTICIPATE AS OBSERVER IN THE SESSIONS AND THE WORK OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY AND MAINTAINING PERMANENT OBSERVER MISSIONS AT HEADQUARTERS

HOLY SEE

PARTY TO THE UNITED NATIONS CONVENTION ON THE LAW OF THE SEA INVITED TO

PARTICIPATE IN THE

MEETINGS OF THE CONSULTATIVE PROCESS IN ACCORDANCE WITH PARAGRAPH 3 (a)

OF GENERAL ASSEMBLY RESOLUTION 54/33

EUROPEAN UNION

INTERGOVERNMENTAL ORGANIZATIONS HAVING RECEIVED A STANDING INVITATION TO PARTICIPATE AS OBSERVERS IN THE SESSIONS AND THE WORK OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY

PARTNERS IN POPULATION AND DEVELOPMENT (PPD)

SPECIALIZED AGENCIES AND RELATED ORGANIZATIONS

FOOD AND AGRICULTURE ORGANIZATION OF THE UNITED NATIONS

INTERNATIONAL ATOMIC ENERGY AGENCY (IAEA)

INTERGOVERNMENTAL OCEANOGRAPHIC COMMISSION OF THE UNITED NATIONS EDUCATIONAL, SCIENTIFIC AND CULTURAL ORGANIZATION

WORLD BANK-GLOBAL ENVIRONMENTAL FACILITY

UNITED NATIONS FUNDS AND PROGRAMMES, BODIES AND OFFICES

DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC AND SOCIAL AFFAIRS (DESA)

OFFICE OF THE HIGH REPRESENTATIVE FOR THE LEAST DEVELOPED COUNTRIES, LANDLOCKED DEVELOPING COUNTRIES AND SMALL ISLAND DEVELOPING STATES (UN-OHRLLS)

UNITED NATIONS ENVIRONMENT PROGRAMME (UNEP)

NON-GOVERNMENTAL ORGANIZATIONS (NGOs)

OCEAN POLICY RESEARCH INSTITUTE, SASAKAWA PEACE FOUNDATION (OPRI/SPF)

PANELLISTS

Ms. Ko Barrett, Vice-Chair of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change

Ms. Françoise Gaill, Committee for Marine and Coastal Research / Centre Nationnal de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS)

Mr. Fangli Qiao, Government Secretary General and Deputy Director General, First Institute of Oceanography, State Oceanic Administration of China

Mr. Francisco Armando Arias Isaza, Institute of Marine Research

Ms. Elva Escobar Briones, Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico

Mr. Philip Sutton, National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research

Ms. Lisa Beal, School of Marine and Atmospheric Science at the University of Miami

Ms. Elizabeth Jewett, NOAA Office of Atmospheric Research

Ms. Katharina Fabricius, Australian Institute of Marine Science

Mr. Dimitri Gutiérrez Aguilar, Institute of Marine Research

Ms. Jennifer Howard, Conservation International

H.E. Ms. Marlene Moses, Permanent Representative of Nauru to the United Nations / Association of Small Island States (AOSIS)

Mr. Carlos Garcia Soto, Spanish Institute of Oceanography

Mr. William Cheung, University of British Columbia, Canada

Ms. Nathalie Hilmi, Monaco Scientific Center

Mr. Essam Yassin Mohammed, International Institute for Environment and Development

Ms. Maria Fossheim, Institute of Marine Research

Mr. Hernan Garcia, NOAA National Environmental Data Satellite, Data and Information Service, National Centers for Environmental Information

Mr. Vladimir Ryabinin, Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission of the United Nations Educational,

Scientific and Cultural Organization

Mr. Sindre Langaas, Institute for Water Research

Mr. Elliot Harris, UN Assistant Secretary-General, Director of the New York Office, United Nations Environment Programme

Ms. Bethan O'Leary, Environment Department, University of York

Mr. Cyrille Frederic Marie Barnerias, Global Environment Facility

Mr. Hassan Moustahfid, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations

Mr. Muhammad Lukman, Coral Triangle Initiative

Mr. Andi Eka Sakya, Meteorological, Climatological and Geophysical Agency

Ms. Christina Hioureas, Foley Hoag

CO-CHAIRPERSONS

H.E. Mr. Gustavo Meza-Cuadra, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary, Permanent Representative of Peru to the United Nations

H.E. Mr. Kornelios Korneliou, Permanent Representative of the Republic of Cyprus to the United Nations

UNITED NATIONS SECRETARIAT

DIVISION FOR OCEAN AFFAIRS AND THE LAW OF THE SEA, OFFICE OF LEGAL AFFAIRS