Act No. 85-14 delimiting the territorial sea, the contiguous zone and the continental shelf, 25 February 1985

Article 1

The breadth of the territorial sea is twelve (12) nautical miles, measured from baselines whose reference points are established by decree.

Article 2

A contiguous zone of twelve (12) nautical miles, measured from the outer limit of the territorial sea, is established.

Article 3

Senegal exercises sovereignty over the entire area of its territorial sea.

Article 4

In the contiguous zone, Senegal has the necessary authority to prevent violations of its customs, tax, health and immigration laws and regulations on its territory or in its territorial sea and to punish violations of those laws and regulations committed on its territory or in its territorial sea.

Article 5

The above provisions concerning the territorial sea shall be without prejudice to the right of innocent passage granted to all foreign ships in accordance with the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea, signed by Senegal on 10 December 1982 at Montego Bay, Jamaica.

Article 6

The continental shelf comprises the sea-bed and subsoil of the submarine areas that extend beyond the territorial sea throughout the natural prolongation of the land territory to the outer edge of the continental margin, or to a distance of 200/nautical miles from the baselines from which the breadth of the territorial sea is measured where the outer edge of the continental margin does not extend up to that distance.

Article 7

Senegal exercises sovereign and exclusive rights over the entire area of the continental shelf for the purpose of exploring it and exploiting its natural resources.

Article 8

All existing provisions that are contrary to this Act are hereby repealed, including, in particular, Act No. 76-54 of 9 April 1976 delimiting the territorial sea and the continental shelf.

This Act shall be enforced as a law of the State.

