UNOFFICIAL TRANSLATION

Decree of the President of the Republic of Sudan No. 148 (2017) Concerning the baselines of the maritime zones of the Republic of Sudan

The President of the Republic

By virtue of the authority conferred under Article 58 (1) (q) of the Sudan Interim Constitution 2005, as amended in the year 2016 and having reviewed the Provisional Order, the law to ratify the UN Convention on the Law of the Sea of 1984, issued on 20 June 1984, approved by the People's Assembly on 27 November 1984 on the ratification of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea, which was concluded in Montego Bay, Jamaica, on 10 December 1982. I hereby promulgate the following law;

Article 1

The maritime zones under the sovereignty and rule of the Republic of Sudan, including its territorial water, shall be measured from the straight baseline connecting all the points defined by the coordinates referred to in article 2, hereunder.

Article 2

The coordinates referred to in article 1, in accordance with the geodetic datum (Mercator projection)(WGS84), are laid in the Red Sea, in accordance with the attached annex 1, which constitutes an inseparable part of this Decree.

Article 3

The lists of coordinates referred to in article 2 of the above shall be published and declared in accordance with the relevant rules followed in this connection and shall be deposited with the Secretary-General of the United Nations.

Article 4

This Decree shall be published in the Official Gazette.

Article 5

All competent authorities shall put this Decree into effect.

Issued under my signature on the third day of the month of Jumada al-Akhra of the year 1438 AH corresponding to the second day of March 2017.

(Signed)

Field Marshal Omar Hassan Ahmed Al Bashir

The President of the Republic of the Sudan

[Original: Arabic]

The Coordinates Of The Straight Base Line

Of The Sudan In The Red Sea

No	Position	Coordinates	
		Latitude	longitude
1	Dahrat Abid Island	18°20′ 54.3″	38°44′ 40.9″
2	Qab Miyum Island	18°30′ 17.2″	38°50′ 07.8″
3	Ed Domesh Shesh Island	18°37′ 30.6″	38°50′ 48.1″
4	Masamirit Island	18°50′10.1″	38°45′ 33.4″
5	Dibsel Island	18°54′ 06.9″	38°35′ 44.0″
6	Biar Musa Kabir Island	19°13′ 06.8″	38°11′29.4″
7	Sanganeb Reef	19°43′ 29.9″	37°26′ 33.4″
8	Angarosh Island	20°51′ 43.3″	37°26′ 15.8″
9	Abington Reef	20°53′ 17.0″	37°27′ 20.3″
10	Elba Reef	21°59′ 12.2″	37°01′ 22.9″
11	Shab Abu Fendera Reef	22°54′ 43.3″	36°16′ 28 .4″
12	Mirear Island	23°09′ 42.7″	35°44′ 34.0″

The Map Datum is:

World Geodetic System (WGS 1984)

