Advisory Board

The Advisory Board of the UN Democracy Fund offers the Secretary-General policy guidance for the development of programme frameworks and funding guidelines, considers proposals for funding, and recommends funding proposals for approval by the Secretary-General. The Board comprises 18 members: 13 Member States, including the seven largest contributors to UNDEF over the previous three years and six countries reflecting geographical diversity and commitment to democratic principles; three individual members, including the Chair of the Board; and two civil society organizations. The Advisory Board also has Group of Experts which serves as the working level of the Board. 

The composition of the Advisory Board for 2012-2013:


Seven largest contributors to UNDEF during 2009-2011

  • United States of America
  • India
  • Sweden
  • Germany
  • Spain
  • Australia
  • France

Six countries reflecting geographical diversity and commitment to democratic principles:

  • Jamaica
  • Lithuania
  • Tanzania
  • Timor-Leste
  • Tunisia
  • Uruguay

Individual members:

  • Dr. Michael Doyle (Chair), Professor of International Affairs, Law and Political Science, Columbia University; former assistant secretary-general and special adviser to UN Secretary-General Kofi Annan 
  • Ms. Shazia Rafi, Secretary-General of Parliamentarians for Global Action 
  • Mr. Jeffrey Wright, Actor and Founder of Taia Peace Foundation

Civil society organizations: 

  • The Women's Environment and Development Organization 
  • Third World Network