背景
气候变化是一个复杂的问题,虽然在性质上属于环境问题,但对我们地球上的万事万物都有影响。气候变化或者影响全球问题,或者受全球问题影响。这些全球问题包括贫穷、经济发展、人口增长、可持续发展和资源管理。

然而,应对气候变化的核心是必须实行减排。2010年,各国政府商定,必须实行减排,以使全球气温升幅限制在2°C以内。

联合国气候变化框架公约

1992年,各国加入一项国际条约——《 联合国气候变化框架公约 》(《气候公约》),以考虑它们可以采取哪些措施来限制全球气温上升以及随之而来的气候变化,并应对气候变化影响。

到1995年,各国认识到该《公约》中的减排规定尚不充分。因此,各国启动了谈判进程,以加强全球应对气候变化,并在1997年,通过了《京都议定书》。

《京都议定书》在法律上约束发达国家实现减排目标。该《议定书》的第一承诺期自2008年开始至2012年结束。第二承诺期自2013年1月1日开始至2020年结束。

目前,该《公约》有195个缔约方,《京都议定书》有192个缔约方。《议定书》于2005年2月16日开始生效。自此以后,《议定书》缔约方持续进行谈判,并修订了《议定书》以到2030年取得更宏伟的成果。

以下时间表简要概述了为促成一个气候协议进行的谈判。

谈判时间表

1979年 — 第一届世界气候大会召开。

1988年 — 政府间气候变化专门委员会(气候专委会)成立。 了解更多关于气候变化科学的内容 。

1990年 — 气候专委会和第二届世界气候大会呼吁缔结一个关于气候变化问题的全球条约。联合国大会有关框架公约的谈判启动。

1991年 — 政府间谈判委员会第一次会议召开。

1992年 — 在里约地球问题首脑会议上,《联合国气候变化框架公约》与同类型的《里约公约》、《联合国生物多样性公约 》和《 联合国防治荒漠化公约》一道开放供签署。

 1994年 — 联合国气候变化框架公约》开始生效。

1995年 — 第一次缔约方会议在柏林召开。

1996年 — 联合国气候变化框架公约秘书处 成立,以支持该《公约》项下的行动。

1997年 — 12月在第三次缔约方会议上正式通过《 京都议定书 》。

2001年 — 第七次缔约方会议上通过《 马拉喀什协定》,其中详细介绍《京都议定书》执行规则,开发新型融资和规划工具以适应气候变化,以及制定一个技术转移框架。

2005年 — 《京都议定书》生效。《京都议定书》第一次缔约方会议在蒙特利尔召开。根据《京都议定书》要求,缔约方就附件一 缔约方在《京都议定书》之下的进一步承诺问题特设工作组主持下的《京都议定书》下一阶段启动了谈判。接受并议定了后来的《关于适应工作的内罗毕工作方案 》(一年后于2006年得名)。

2007年 — 发布气候专委会第四次评估报告。气候科学为公众所知。在第十三次缔约方会议上,缔约方就《巴厘岛路线图》达成一致,其中绘制了在两个工作小组下取得2012年后成果的路线:一个是附件一缔约方在《京都议定书》之下的进一步承诺问题特设工作组,另一个是是《公约》之下的特设工作组,即 《公约》之下的长期合作行动问题特设工作组 。

2009年 — 在哥本哈根举行的第十五次缔约方会议上起草了《哥本哈根协议》。之后,各国提交了减排承诺或减缓行动承诺,所有承诺都不具有约束力。

2010 — 在第十六次缔约方会议上,气候大会起草并在很大程度上接受了《坎昆协议 》。透过该协议,各国作出正式减排承诺,这是为采用相互负责的方式实现减排进行的最大的集体努力。

2011年 — 在第十七缔约方次会议上,气候大会起草并接受了强化行动 德班平台。在德班,各国政府明确确认,有必要制定一项全新的普遍法律协议的蓝图,以应对2020年后的气候变化。通过该协议,所有相关方都尽其所能发挥作用,同时能够一起收获胜利果实。

2012年 – 在作为《京都议定书》缔约方会议的《公约》缔约方会议第八届会议上,作为《京都议定书》缔约方会议的《公约》缔约方会议通过了对《京都议定书》的《 多哈修正》。该修正包括:同意在自2013年1月1日开始至2020年12月31日结束的第二承诺期兑现承诺的《京都议定书》附件一缔约方作出的新承诺;缔约方将在第二承诺期报告的修订后的温室气体清单;以及《京都议定书》有关第一承诺期以及需要就第二承诺期作出更新的数个条款的修正。

2013年 – 第十九次缔约方会议/作为《京都议定书》缔约方会议的《公约》缔约方会议第九届会议通过的主要决定包括关于进一步推动德班平台、绿色气候基金和长期融资、华沙REDD +框架、华沙损失和损害国际机制的各项决定。了解更多关于华沙成果的内容。

2014年 – 第二十次缔约方会议将于12月在秘鲁利马召开。

2015年 – 第二十一次缔约方会议或作为《京都议定书》缔约方会议的《公约》缔约方会议第十一届会议将于12月在法国巴黎召开。

*资料来源:联合国气候变化框架公约

Background
Climate change is a complex problem, which, although environmental in nature, has consequences for all spheres of existence on our planet. It either impacts on– or is impacted by– global issues, including poverty, economic development, population growth, sustainable development and resource management.

At the very heart of the response to climate change, however, lies the need to reduce emissions. In 2010, governments agreed that emissions need to be reduced so that global temperature increases are limited to below 2 degrees Celsius.

UN Framework Convention on Climate Change

In 1992, countries joined an international treaty, the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), to consider what they could do to limit global temperature increases and the resulting climate change, and to cope with its impacts.

By 1995, countries realized that emission reductions provisions in the Convention were inadequate. As a result, they launched negotiations to strengthen the global response to climate change, and, in 1997, adopted the Kyoto Protocol.

The Kyoto Protocol legally binds developed countries to emission reduction targets. The Protocol’s first commitment period started in 2008 and ended in 2012. The second commitment period began on 1 January 2013 and will end in 2020.

There are now 195 Parties to the Convention and 192 Parties to the Kyoto Protocol. The Protocol entered into force on 16 February 2005. Since then, the Protocol  the Parties to the Protocol  have continued the negotiations and have amended the Protocol to achieve more ambitious results by 2030.

The following timeline provides a brief summary of negotiations towards a climate agreement.

Negotiations timeline

1979 — The first World Climate Conference takes place.

1988 — The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) is set up. Learn more about the science of climate change.

1990 — The IPCC and the second World Climate Conference call for a global treaty on climate change. The United Nations General Assembly negotiations on a framework convention begin.

1991 — First meeting of the Intergovernmental Negotiating Committee takes place.

1992 —At the Earth Summit in Rio, the UNFCCC is opened for signature along with its sister Rio Conventions, the UN Convention on Biological Diversity and the UN Convention to Combat Desertification.

 1994 — The UNFCCC enters into force.

1995 — The first Conference of the Parties (COP 1) takes place in Berlin.

1996 — The UNFCCC Secretariat is set up to support action under the Convention.

1997The Kyoto Protocol is formally adopted in December at COP3.

2001The Marrakesh Accords are adopted at COP7, detailing the rules for implementation of the Kyoto Protocol, setting up new funding and planning instruments for adaptation, and establishing a technology transfer framework.

2005 — Entry into force of the Kyoto Protocol. The first Meeting of the Parties to the Kyoto Protocol (MOP 1) takes place in Montreal. In accordance with Kyoto Protocol requirements, Parties launched negotiations on the next phase of the KP under the Ad Hoc Working Group on Further Commitments for Annex I Parties under the Kyoto Protocol (AWG-KP). What was to become the Nairobi Work Programme on Adaptation (it would receive its name in 2006, one year later) is accepted and agreed on.

2007 — The IPCC’s Fourth Assessment Report is released. Climate science entered into popular consciousness. At COP13, Parties agreed on the Bali Road Map, which charted the way towards a post-2012 outcome in two work streams: the AWG-KP, and another under the Convention, known as the Ad-Hoc Working Group on Long-Term Cooperative Action Under the Convention. 

2009 — Copenhagen Accord drafted at COP15 in Copenhagen. Countries later submitted emissions reductions pledges or mitigation action pledges, all non-binding.

2010Cancun Agreements drafted and largely accepted by the COP, at COP16. Through the Agreements, countries made their emission reduction pledges official, in what was the largest collective effort the world has ever seen to reduce emissions in a mutually accountable way.

2011The Durban Platform for Enhanced Action drafted and accepted by the COP, at COP17. In Durban, governments clearly recognized the need to draw up the blueprint for a fresh universal, legal agreement to deal with climate change beyond 2020, where all will play their part to the best of their ability and all will be able to reap the benefits of success together.

2012 – The Doha Amendment to the Kyoto Protocol is adopted by the CMP at CMP8. The amendment includes: new commitments for Annex I Parties to the Kyoto Protocol who agreed to take on commitments in a second commitment period from 1 January 2013 to 31 December 2020; a revised list of greenhouse gases to be reported on by Parties in the second commitment period; and amendments to several articles of the Kyoto Protocol pertaining to the first commitment period and which needed to be updated for the second commitment period.

2013 – Key decisions adopted at COP19/CMP9 include decisions on further advancing the Durban Platform, the Green Climate Fund and Long-Term Finance, the Warsaw Framework for REDD Plus and the Warsaw International Mechanism for Loss and Damage. More on the Warsaw Outcomes.

2014 – COP20 will be held in December in Lima, Peru

2015 – COP21 or CMP11 will be held in Paris, France in December.

*Source:UNFCCC