معلومات أساسية

تغير المناخ مشكلة معقدة، لها آثار على جميع مجالات الوجود على كوكبنا، رغم أنها مشكلة ذات طابع بيئي. فهي إما تؤثر في قضايا عالمية – أو تتأثر بها – بما فيها الفقر، والتنمية الاقتصادية، والنمو السكاني، والتنمية المستدامة وإدارة الموارد.

غير أنه تكمن في صميم التصدي لتغير المناخ ضرورة الحد من الانبعاثات. وفي عام 2010، اتفقت الحكومات على ضرورة خفض الانبعاثات بغية الحد من ارتفاع درجات الحرارة على نطاق عالمي في حدود درجتين مئويتين.

اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة الإطارية بشأن تغير المناخ

في عام 1992، انضمت البلدان إلى معاهدة دولية، هي اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة الإطارية بشأن تغير المناخ، للنظر في ما يمكن القيام به للحد من ارتفاع درجات الحرارة العالمية وما ينجم عنها من تغير في المناخ والتصدي لآثاره.

وبحلول عام 1995، أدركت الدول أن الأحكام المتعلقة بخفض الانبعاثات في الاتفاقية ليست كافية. ونتيجة لذلك، فإنها بدأت المفاوضات لتعزيز التصدي العالمي لتغير المناخ، وفي عام 1997، اعتمدت بروتوكول كيوتو.

ويلزم بروتوكول كيوتو قانونيا الدول المتقدمة النمو بأهداف في مجال خفض الانبعاثات. وقد بدأت فترة الالتزام الأولى للبروتوكول في عام 2008 وانتهت في عام 2012. وبدأت فترة الالتزام الثانية في 1 كانون الثاني/يناير 2013 وستنتهي في عام 2020.

وثمة في الوقت الراهن 195 طرفا في الاتفاقية و 192 طرفا في بروتوكول كيوتو. وقد دخل البروتوكول حيِّز النفاذ في 16 شباط/فبراير 2005. ومنذ ذلك الحين، واصلت الأطراف في البروتوكول المفاوضات وعدلت البروتوكول لتحقيق نتائج أكثر طموحا بحلول عام 2030.

ويورد الجدول الزمني التالي ملخصا مختصرا للمفاوضات التي أجريت من أجل اتفاق بشأن المناخ.

 

المسار الزمني للمفاوضات

1979 – انعقاد أول مؤتمر عالمي بشأن المناخ.

1988 – إنشاء الهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بتغير المناخ. تعرف على المزيد بشأن علم تغير المناخ.

1990 – الهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية والمؤتمر العالمي الثاني المعني بالمناخ يدعوان إلى إبرام معاهدة عالمية بشأن تغير المناخ. ومفاوضات الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة تبدأ بشأن اتفاقية إطارية.

1991 – انعقاد الاجتماع الأول للجنة التفاوض الحكومية الدولية.

1992 -في مؤتمر قمة الأرض في ريو، افتتاح التوقيع على اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة الإطارية بشأن تغير المناخ، إلى جانب اتفاقيتها الشقيقتين اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة المتعلقة بالتنوع البيولوجي و اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة لمكافحة التصحر.

 1994 – بدء نفاذ اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة الإطارية بشأن تغير المناخ.

1995 – انعقاد المؤتمر الأول للأطراف في برلين.

1996 – إنشاء أمانة اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة الإطارية بشأن تغي المناخ لدعم العمل بموجب الاتفاقية.

1997 – اعتماد بروتوكول كيوتو رسمياً في كانون الأول/ ديسمبر في مؤتمر الأطراف الثالث.

2001 – اعتماد اتفاقات مراكش في مؤتمر الأطراف السابع، وهي اتفاقات تورد بالتفصيل قواعد تنفيذ بروتوكول كيوتو، وتحدد أدوات جديدة للتمويل والتخطيط المتعلقين بالتكيف، وتنئشئ إطارا لنقل التكنولوجيا.

2005 – بدء نفاذ بروتوكول كيوتو. وانعقاد الاجتماع الأول للأطراف في بروتوكول كيوتو في مونتريال. ووفقا لشروط بروتوكول كيوتو، بدأت الأطراف المفاوضات بشأن المرحلة المقبلة من بروتوكول كيوتو في إطار الفريق العامل المخصص المعني بالالتزامات الإضافية للأطراف المدرجة في المرفق الأول بموجب بروتوكول كيوتو. وتم قبول وإقرار ما سيصبح برنامج عمل نيروبي بشأن التكيف (وقد أطلق عليه هذا الاسم في عام 2006، بعد مرور عام واحد) .

2007 – إصدار تقرير التقييم الرابع للفريق الحكومي الدولي للهيئة الحكومية الدولية المعنية بتغير المناخ. وقد دخل علم المناخ في الوعي الشعبي. في مؤتمر الأطراف الثالث عشر، اتفقت الأطراف على خريطة طريق بالي، التي رسمت الطريق نحو التوصل إلى نتيجة لما بعد عام 2012 في مسارين للعمل: مسار الفريق العامل المخصص المعني بالالتزامات الإضافية للأطراف المدرجة في المرفق الأول بموجب بروتوكول كيوتو، ومسار آخر بموجب الاتفاقية، يعرف باسم الفريق العامل المخصص المعني بالعمل التعاوني الطويل الأجل بموجب الاتفاقية.

2009 – صياغة اتفاق كوبنهاغن في مؤتمر الأطراف الخامس عشر المعقود في كوبنهاغن -. وقطعت البلدان في وقت لاحق تعهدات بتخفيض الانبعاثات أو تعهدات باتخاذ إجراءات للتخفيف، وكلها غير ملزمة.

2010 – صياغة اتفاقات كانكون وقبول مؤتمر الأطراف لها قبولا واسع النطاق، في مؤتمر الأطراف السادس عشر. ومن خلال الاتفاقات، أضفت البلدان طابعا رسميا على تعهداتها بخفض الانبعاثات، في إطار أكبر جهد جماعي شهده العالم على الاطلاق للحد من الانبعاثات بطريقة خاضعة للمساءلة المتبادلة.

2011 – مؤتمر الأطراف يصوغ ويقبل منهاج عمل ديربان للعمل المعزز في مؤتمر الأطراف السابع عشر. ففي ديربان، اعترفت الحكومات اعترافا واضحا بضرورة وضع مسودة لاتفاق قانوني عالمي جديد للتصدي لتغير المناخ في فترة ما بعد عام 2020، حيث يقوم كل طرف بدوره بأقصى طاقته ويجني الجميع ثمار النجاح .

2012 – اعتماد اجتماع الأطراف في بروتوكول كيوتو لتعديل الدوحة لبروتوكول كيوتو في اجتماع الأطراف الثامن. ويشمل التعديل : التزامات جديدة للأطراف المدرجة في المرفق الأول لبروتوكول كيوتو التي وافقت على تحمل التزامات في فترة الالتزام الثانية من 1 كانون الثاني/يناير 2013 إلى 31 كانون الأول/ديسمبر عام 2020؛ وقائمة منقحة لغازات الدفيئة التي يتعين على الأطراف الإبلاغ عنها في فترة الالتزام الثانية. وتعديلات لعدة مواد في بروتوكول كيوتو تتعلق بفترة الالتزام الأولى والتي تحتاج إلى استكمال لأغراض فترة الالتزام الثانية.

2013 – القرارات الرئيسية التي اعتمدت في مؤتمر الأطراف التاسع عشر/اجتماع الأطراف التاسع تشمل قرارات بشأن تعزيز منهاج عمل ديربان، وصندوق المناخ الأخضر والتمويل الطويل الأجل، وإطار وارسو للمبادرة المعززة لخفض الانبعاثات الناجمة عن إزالة الأحراج وتدهور الغابات وآلية وارسو الدولية المتعلقة بالخسائر والأضرار. اطلع على المزيد من المعلومات عن نتائج وارسو .

2014 – سيعقد مؤتمر الأطراف العشرون في كانون الأول/ديسمبر في ليما، بيرو

2015 – سيعقد مؤتمر الأطراف الحادي والعشرون أو اجتماع الأطراف الحادي عشر في باريس، فرنسا في كانون الاول/ديسمبر.

* المصدر: أمانة اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة الإطارية بشأن تغير المناخ

Background
Climate change is a complex problem, which, although environmental in nature, has consequences for all spheres of existence on our planet. It either impacts on– or is impacted by– global issues, including poverty, economic development, population growth, sustainable development and resource management.

At the very heart of the response to climate change, however, lies the need to reduce emissions. In 2010, governments agreed that emissions need to be reduced so that global temperature increases are limited to below 2 degrees Celsius.

UN Framework Convention on Climate Change

In 1992, countries joined an international treaty, the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), to consider what they could do to limit global temperature increases and the resulting climate change, and to cope with its impacts.

By 1995, countries realized that emission reductions provisions in the Convention were inadequate. As a result, they launched negotiations to strengthen the global response to climate change, and, in 1997, adopted the Kyoto Protocol.

The Kyoto Protocol legally binds developed countries to emission reduction targets. The Protocol’s first commitment period started in 2008 and ended in 2012. The second commitment period began on 1 January 2013 and will end in 2020.

There are now 195 Parties to the Convention and 192 Parties to the Kyoto Protocol. The Protocol entered into force on 16 February 2005. Since then, the Protocol  the Parties to the Protocol  have continued the negotiations and have amended the Protocol to achieve more ambitious results by 2030.

The following timeline provides a brief summary of negotiations towards a climate agreement.

Negotiations timeline

1979 — The first World Climate Conference takes place.

1988 — The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) is set up. Learn more about the science of climate change.

1990 — The IPCC and the second World Climate Conference call for a global treaty on climate change. The United Nations General Assembly negotiations on a framework convention begin.

1991 — First meeting of the Intergovernmental Negotiating Committee takes place.

1992 —At the Earth Summit in Rio, the UNFCCC is opened for signature along with its sister Rio Conventions, the UN Convention on Biological Diversity and the UN Convention to Combat Desertification.

 1994 — The UNFCCC enters into force.

1995 — The first Conference of the Parties (COP 1) takes place in Berlin.

1996 — The UNFCCC Secretariat is set up to support action under the Convention.

1997The Kyoto Protocol is formally adopted in December at COP3.

2001The Marrakesh Accords are adopted at COP7, detailing the rules for implementation of the Kyoto Protocol, setting up new funding and planning instruments for adaptation, and establishing a technology transfer framework.

2005 — Entry into force of the Kyoto Protocol. The first Meeting of the Parties to the Kyoto Protocol (MOP 1) takes place in Montreal. In accordance with Kyoto Protocol requirements, Parties launched negotiations on the next phase of the KP under the Ad Hoc Working Group on Further Commitments for Annex I Parties under the Kyoto Protocol (AWG-KP). What was to become the Nairobi Work Programme on Adaptation (it would receive its name in 2006, one year later) is accepted and agreed on.

2007 — The IPCC’s Fourth Assessment Report is released. Climate science entered into popular consciousness. At COP13, Parties agreed on the Bali Road Map, which charted the way towards a post-2012 outcome in two work streams: the AWG-KP, and another under the Convention, known as the Ad-Hoc Working Group on Long-Term Cooperative Action Under the Convention. 

2009 — Copenhagen Accord drafted at COP15 in Copenhagen. Countries later submitted emissions reductions pledges or mitigation action pledges, all non-binding.

2010Cancun Agreements drafted and largely accepted by the COP, at COP16. Through the Agreements, countries made their emission reduction pledges official, in what was the largest collective effort the world has ever seen to reduce emissions in a mutually accountable way.

2011The Durban Platform for Enhanced Action drafted and accepted by the COP, at COP17. In Durban, governments clearly recognized the need to draw up the blueprint for a fresh universal, legal agreement to deal with climate change beyond 2020, where all will play their part to the best of their ability and all will be able to reap the benefits of success together.

2012 – The Doha Amendment to the Kyoto Protocol is adopted by the CMP at CMP8. The amendment includes: new commitments for Annex I Parties to the Kyoto Protocol who agreed to take on commitments in a second commitment period from 1 January 2013 to 31 December 2020; a revised list of greenhouse gases to be reported on by Parties in the second commitment period; and amendments to several articles of the Kyoto Protocol pertaining to the first commitment period and which needed to be updated for the second commitment period.

2013 – Key decisions adopted at COP19/CMP9 include decisions on further advancing the Durban Platform, the Green Climate Fund and Long-Term Finance, the Warsaw Framework for REDD Plus and the Warsaw International Mechanism for Loss and Damage. More on the Warsaw Outcomes.

2014 – COP20 will be held in December in Lima, Peru

2015 – COP21 or CMP11 will be held in Paris, France in December.

*Source:UNFCCC