الأمين العام: القيادة بشأن تغير المناخ

SG Meeting

بذلت الحكومات، تحت قيادة الأمين العام، جهود دولية للتصدي لتغير المناخ، وتخفيف حدته والتكيف معه.

الدفع بالعالم قدما إلى الأمام

وفي مؤتمر الأطراف في اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة الإطارية بشأن تغير المناخ المعقود في كانكون في عام 2010، اعتمدت الحكومات اتفاقات كانكون، التي ترسي أسس أوسع جهد جماعي للحد من انبعاثات الكربون ومواجهة تحديات تغير المناخ الطويلة الأجل.

وتشمل اتفاقات كانكون أيضا أشمل مجموعة أقرتها الحكومات لمساعدة الدول النامية على التصدي لتغير المناخ، بطرق منها التمويل والتكنولوجيا ودعم بناء القدرات.

وفي ديربان في عام 2011، أوفت الحكومات بوعودها المقطوعة في كانكون واستجابت مرة أخرى لنداء الأمين العام الداعي إلى اتخاذ إجراءات. ورسم منهاج عمل ديربان الطريق نحو اتفاق جديد ملزم قانونا يسري على الجميع؛ وألزم الحكومات بالتعهد بفترة التزام الثانية لبروتوكول كيوتو؛ واعلن عن إنشاء صندوق المناخ الأخضر.

وقد نشأت هذه الخطوات الرئيسية في كانكون وديربان عن مؤتمر الأطراف لعام 2007 المعقود في بالي – وهو أول مؤتمر معني بالمناخ يعقد تحت قيادة الأمين العام ويتناول تغير المناخ وتخفيف حدته والتكيف معه ومسائل التكنولوجيا والتمويل المتعلقة به.

العمل في الميدان

في الوقت الذي يعمل فيه الأمين العام على بناء توافق في الآراء بشأن اتخاذ إجراءات على الصعيد الدولي، فإنه ما فتئ يقود أيضا مبادرات تدعو إلى اتخاذ إجراءات فعالة على المستويين المحلي والوطني للتصدي لتغير المناخ.

الطاقة المستدامة للجميع

se4allcover

“الطاقة المستدامة هي الخيط الذهبي الرفيع الذي يربط النمو الاقتصادي والعدالة الاجتماعية، بالمناخ والبيئة مما يمكن العالم من الازدهار.” – بان كي مون، أيلول/ سبتمبر 2012

أعلن السيد بان، في أيلول/ سبتمبر 2011، عن مبادرته المسماة الطاقة المستدامة للجميع، التي تسعى إلى تحقيق ثلاثة أهداف مترابطة بحلول عام 2030:

  • تعميم الاستفادة من الطاقة الحديثة،
  • مضاعفة كفاءة الطاقة،
  • مضاعفة حصة الطاقة المتجددةوقد انضم أكثر من 60 بلدا إلى المبادرة؛ وعبئت عشرات البلايين من الدولارات لتعزيز أهدافها الثلاثة؛ وتعهدت الحكومات والجهات المانحة والقطاع الخاص ومنظمات المجتمع المدني بأكثر من 150 التزاما محددا من أجل دعم المبادرة. وسيستفيد ما يزيد على بليون شخص من زيادة فرص الحصول على خدمات الطاقة الحديثة، وهو رقم سيتزايد بتشكيل المزيد من الشراكات بين القطاعين العام والخاص.

تحدي القضاء على الجوع

zero-hunger1

إن قدرتنا على ضمان تمتع جميع الناس بحقهم في الغذاء حاضرا ومستقبلا يواجه باطراد تحدي تغير المناخ، لذلك تعهدت مبادرة الأمين العام المعنونة تحدي القضاء على الجوع بجعل جميع النظم الغذائية نظما مستدامة.

فهذا التحدي يحث المزارعين والشركات الزراعية والتعاونيات والحكومات والنقابات والمجتمع المدني على:

  • وضع معايير للاستدامة والمساءلة عن التقيد بها
  • تشجيع الاعتماد العالمي للممارسات الزراعية المستدامة والصامدة مناخيا
  • العمل بسياسات شاملة لعدة قطاعات
  • الحكومة المسؤولة للأراضي ومصائد الأسماك والغابات

الحرص على المناخ

C4CHomepage_BusinessForum

هي مبادرة أعلن عنها الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة بان كي مون في عام 2007، وتجمع الاتفاق العالمي للأمم المتحدة، وبرنامج الأمم المتحدة للبيئة وأمانة اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة الإطارية بشأن تغير المناخ من أجل تعزيز دور قطاع الأعمال في التصدي لتغير المناخ.

وتوفر المبادرة إطارا لقادة قطاع الأعمال للترويج للحلول العملية والتأثير على السياسة العامة ومواقف العموم. فالرؤساء المديرون العامون الذين يؤيدون البيان مستعدون لتحديد الأهداف ووضع استراتيجيات وممارسات وتوسيع نطاقها، والكشف علنا عن الانبعاثات عملا بالالتزام القائم بالكشف في إطار الاتفاق العالمي للأمم المتحدة.

وقد أيد مبادرة الحرص على المناخ ما يقارب 350 شركة من 65 بلدا. وكان مجموع انبعاثات الكربون من الأطراف الموقعة في الفترة 2009-2010 أقل من انبعاثات مجموعة الاقتصادات الكبيرة الخمسة عشر في الاتحاد الأوروبي.ies.

مواجهة تغير المناخ

عاين الأمين العام مباشرة آثار تغير المناخ، من القطب الشمالي إلى الغابات المطيرة في الأمازون ومن جزر المحيط الهادئ الصغيرة إلى أنتاركتيكا.

وفي عام 2007، كان أول رئيس للأمم المتحدة يزور أنتاركتيكا وباتاغونيا التشيلية، حيث وجه انتباه العالم إلى آثار تغير المناخ على أكبر حياة برية في العالم. ومنذ ذلك الحين زار الغابات المطيرة للأمازون وشهد تراجع الصفائح الجليدية في المحيط المتجمد الشمالي. وفي عام 2011، كان الأمين العام أول أمين العام للأمم المتحدة يزور كيريباتي، حيث ركز انتباه العالم على هذه الدولة من الدول الجزرية الصغيرة للمحيط الهادي التي تعاني على جبهة المواجهة مع تغير المناخ.

وفي الآونة الأخيرة، زار غرينلاند، حيث شاهد آثار تغير المناخ على صفائح الجليد الذائبة.

ويتحدث الأمين العام أيضا بانتظام عن مسألة تغير المناخ في الجامعات ومراكز الفكر ومعاهد البحوث في شتى أنحاء العالم، ويحث كبار المفكرين على القيام بدورهم في التصدي لتغير المناخ.

تعبئة التمويل للتصدي لتغير المناخ

ويعمل الأمين العام مع الحكومات حتى تفي باتفاقها على تعبئة 100 بليون دولار سنويا بحلول عام 2020 في إطار تمويل جديد وإضافي، وهو ملتزم بالعمل على تشغيل صندوق المناخ الأخضر حتى يقوم الصندوق بدور رئيسي في توفير التمويل الطويل الأمد فيما يتعلق بالمناخ .

ويعمل السيد بان كي مون أيضا مع القطاع الخاص، الذي يملك قدرة الابتكار والموارد، لتعزيز دور قطاع الأعمال في التصدي لتغير المناخ.

ويعد التمويل المتعلق بتغير المناخ إحدى أولويات عمل الأمين العام. فهو يشجع ويحث المستثمرين على تقديم دعمهم للمبادرات المتعلقة بتغير المناخ لتوفير حلول للمجتمعات المحلية المتضررة من جراء تغيرالمناخ في جميع أنحاء العالم.

 

تغير المناخ والتنمية المستدامة

في مؤتمر الأمم المتحدة للتنمية المستدامة (ريو + 20) المعقود في البرازيل في شهر حزيران/يونيه 2012، دعا السيد بان كي مون قادة العالم إلى دعم التزامهم السياسي بالاستدامة. واتفقت الدول الأعضاء في ريو، تحت قيادة الأمين العام، على تدابير واضحة وعملية لتنفيذ التنمية المستدامة والتصدي لتغير المناخ، بأمور منها تشجيع الزراعة الأكثر استدامة، وتعزيز القدرة على الصمود أمام تغير المناخ، وتحسين كفاءة استخدام الطاقة، ومعالجة تحمض المحيطات، وتعزيز استراتيجيات تعمل على إدراج الحد من مخاطر الكوارث والتكيف مع تغير المناخ في عملية صنع القرار.

اطلع على المزيد من المعلومات بشأن الالتزامات الطوعية المقطوعة في مؤتمر ريو + 20.

Leading on climate change

The Secretary-General has fought tirelessly to ensure that climate change stays at the top of the leaders’ agendas and has launched a number of initiatives to fight climate change on the ground.

Moving the world forward

Under the leadership of the Secretary-General, governments have advanced international efforts to fight, mitigate and adapt to climate change.

At the Climate Conference (COP) in Cancun in 2010, governments adopted the Cancun agreements, forming the basis for the largest-ever collective effort to reduce carbon emissions and address the long-term challenges of climate change.

The Cancun agreements also include the most comprehensive package ever agreed by governments to help developing nations deal with climate change, including through finance, technology and capacity-building support.

In Durban in 2011, governments made good on their promises in Cancun and again responded to the Secretary-General’s call for action. The Durban Platform set the path towards a new legally binding agreement applicable to all; committed governments to a second commitment period for the Kyoto Protocol; and launched the Green Climate Fund.

These major steps in Cancun and Durban grew out of the pivotal 2007 COP in Bali – the first Climate Conference under the Secretary-General’s leadership which addressed climate change mitigation, adaptation, technology and financing.

Action on the Ground

While working to build consensus for action at the international level, the Secretary-General is also leading initiatives that promote effective action at the local and national levels to tackle climate change.

Sustainable Energy for All


“Sustainable energy is the golden thread that connects economic growth, social equity, and a climate and environment that enables the world to thrive.” – Ban Ki-moon, September 2012

In September 2011, Mr. Ban launched his Sustainable Energy for All initiative, which seeks to which seeks to achieve three inter-linked goals by 2030:

  • Universal access to modern energy,
  • Doubling energy efficiency, and
  • Doubling the share of renewable energy,

Over 60 countries have joined the initiative; tens of billions of dollars have been mobilized to advance its three objectives; and more than 150 specific commitments have been made by governments, donors, private sector and civil society organizations to support the initiative. More than one billion people will benefit from increased access to modern energy services, a number that will increase as additional public-private partnerships are formed.

Zero Hunger Challenge


Our ability to ensure all people enjoy their right to food now and in the future is increasingly challenged by climate change, so the Secretary-General’s Zero Hunger Challenge is committed to making all food systems sustainable.

The Challenge urges farmers, agribusinesses, cooperatives, governments, unions and civil society to:

  • Establish standards for sustainability and be accountable for their observance
  • Encourage the universal adoption of sustainable and climate-resilient agriculture practices
  • Pursue cross-sectoral policies and
  • Implement the responsible governance of land, fisheries and forests

Caring for Climate


Launched by the UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon in 2007, “Caring for Climate” is the UN Global Compact, the UN Environment Programme and the secretariat of the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change‘s initiative aimed at advancing the role of business in addressing climate change.

The initiative provides a framework for business leaders to advance practical solutions and help shape public policy as well as public attitudes. Chief executive officers who support the statement are prepared to set goals, develop and expand strategies and practices, and publicly disclose emissions as part of their existing disclosure commitment within the UN Global Compact framework.

Caring for Climate has been endorsed by nearly 350 companies from 65 countries. The total carbon emissions from signatories in 2009-2010 was lower than the EU-15 group of large economies.

Face-to-Face with Climate Change

The Secretary-General has witnessed first-hand the impacts of climate change, from the North Pole to the rainforests of the Amazon to small Pacific Islands to Antarctica.

In 2007, he was the first UN chief to visit Antarctica and Chilean Patagonia, bringing global attention to the effects of climate change on the world’s largest wilderness. He has since visited the rainforests of the Amazon and has seen the retreating ice sheets in the Arctic Ocean. In 2011, the Secretary-General was the first UN Secretary-General to visit Kiribati, focusing the world’s attention on this small Pacific island nation suffering on the climate frontline.

Most recently, he visited Greenland, where he saw the impacts of climate change on the melting ice sheets.

The Secretary-General also speaks regularly on the issue of climate change at universities, think tanks and research institutes around the world, urging leading thinkers to play their part in addressing climate change.

Mobilizing Climate Finance

The Secretary-General is working with governments to meet their agreement to mobilize of $100 billion per year by 2020 in new and additional finance, and is committed to helping operationalize the Green Climate Fund so that the Fund can play a major role in delivering long-term climate finance.

Mr. Ban has also been working with the private sector, which has the creativity and resources, to advance the role of business in addressing climate change.

Financing for climate change is one of the top priorities of the Secretary-General’s work. He encourages and urges investors to lend their support for climate change initiatives to provide solutions to climate-affected communities around the world.

Climate Change and Sustainable Development

At the UN Conference on Sustainable Development (Rio+20) in Brazil in June 2012, Mr. Ban called on world leaders to step up their political commitment to sustainability. Under the Secretary-General’s leadership, Member States in Rio agreed to clear and practical measures for implementing sustainable development and addressing climate change, including by promoting more sustainable agriculture, enhancing resilience to climate change, improving energy efficiency, addressing ocean acidification, and enhancing strategies that integrate disaster risk reduction and climate change adaptation into decision-making.

Find out more about the voluntary commitments made at the Rio+20 Conference.