强烈的科学共识

全球气候正在发生变化并且人类活动大大促成了这一趋势,人们对这点有着强烈的科学共识。 政府间气候变化专门委员会(气候专委会)第五次评估报告得出结论认为,可以95%确定,

基于大气中温室气体浓度不断上升、正辐射强迫、观测到的变暖现象以及对气候系统的理解,人类对气候系统的影响清晰又明显。

每五或六年,气候专委会都进行一次综合报告,评估气候科学家在同行评议期刊发表的文章。围绕气候变化进行科学辩论大部分通过这些同行评议期刊进行。同行评议虽不完美,但可以确保有关期刊仅接受达到高度科学严谨和客观性标准的文章。对所引用的气候变化科学文献进行的数次调查,确认了所有已发表的论文几乎都接受人类引起气候变化的科学依据。

巴西、加拿大、中国、法国、德国、意大利、印度、日本、俄罗斯、英国和美国等11个世界顶级国家科学院签署的一份联合声明,进一步佐证人类引起气候变化这一科学共识。

虽然人类排放温室气体导致气候变化这一事实不再有争议,但科学家们仍继续调查在世界各区域,气候是如何对大气中温室气体浓度随时间推移不断上升作出反应的。

最近的气候专委会第五次评估报告正在发行。该报告有四个部分,即物理科学、影响和适应、缓解以及一份汇总前三个部分各主要要素的综合报告。

第一工作组:《2013年气候变化:物理科学基础》

IPCC Climate Change 2013 report

报告全文
决策者摘要
新闻稿 – 气候专委会报告称人类对气候的影响十分明显

主要结论

  • 气候系统变暖是毋庸置疑的,并且自1950年代以来,已观测到了数十年乃至数千年来前所未有的许多变化。大气和海洋已经变暖,冰雪量已减少,海平面已上升,温室气体浓度也已增加。
  • 过去三个十年的地表温度已连续高于1850年以来的任何一个十年。在北半球,1983年至2012年可能是过去1400年中温度最高的30年。
  • 在气候系统存储的能量增长中,海洋升温占绝大部分,占1971年至2010年之间所累积能量的90%以上。几乎可以确定的是,海洋上层(0至700米)在1971年至2010年之间温度升高,在19世纪70年代至1971年之间温度可能升高。
  • 在过去二十年里,格陵兰冰盖和南极冰盖的冰量一直大量减少,几乎全世界的冰川都在持续缩小,北极海冰和北半球春季积雪范围持续缩小。
  • 19世纪中叶以来,海平面上升速率高于过去两千年来的平均速率。1901年至2010年间,全球平均海平面上升了0.19[0.17至0.21]米。
  • 二氧化碳、甲烷和一氧化二氮的大气浓度已上升至前所未有的水平,创至少过去800,000年的新高。自工业化以来,二氧化碳浓度已增加了40%,这主要是由于化石燃料的排放,其次是由于土地利用变化导致的净排放。海洋已经吸收了大约30%的人为二氧化碳排放,这导致了海洋酸化。
  • 气候系统变暖是毋庸置疑的,并且自1950年代以来,已观测到了数十年乃至数千年来前所未有的许多变化。大气和海洋已经变暖,冰雪量已减少,海平面已上升,温室气体浓度也已增加。
  • 自上一次2007年评估报告以来,气候模型已得到改进。模型再现了观测到的过去数十年大陆尺度表面温度模式和趋势,包括自20世纪中叶以来的快速增温和大规模火山爆发后立即出现的降温。
  • 已经在大气和海洋升温、全球水循环的变化、冰雪的减少、全球平均海平面的上升以及一些极端气候事件的变化中发现人为的影响。自第四次评估报告以来,有关人为影响的证据有所增加。极有可能的是,人类影响极是造成观测到的自20世纪中叶以来变暖的主要原因。
  • 在21世纪,全球水循环对变暖的反应不是始终如一的。尽管有的区域会出现例外,但干湿地区之间和干湿季节之间的降水差异将会扩大。
  • 21世纪全球海洋将持续变暖。热量将从海面输送到深海,并影响海洋环流。
  • 极有可能的是,在21世纪随着全球平均表面温度上升,北极海冰覆盖将继续缩小并变薄,北半球春季积雪将减少。全球冰川体积将进一步缩小。
  • 21世纪全球平均海平面将持续上升。在所有典型浓度路径的设想下,由于海洋变暖以及冰川和冰盖冰量损失的加速,海平面上升速率很可能超过1971年至2010年期间观测到的速率。
  • 气候变化将通过加剧大气中二氧化碳的增长来影响碳循环过程。
  • 海洋对碳的进一步吸收将加剧海洋酸化。
  • 21世纪末期及以后的全球平均地表变暖主要取决于累积二氧化碳排放。即使停止二氧化碳排放,气候变化的许多方面将持续许多世纪。这意味着过去、现在和将来的二氧化碳排放会产生显著的、长达多个世纪的持续气候变化。

第二工作组报告:《2014年气候变化:影响、适应和脆弱性》

Climate Change 2014 - Impacts, Adaptation, and Vulnerability. Volume II: Regional Aspects 报告全文
决策者摘要
新闻稿:气候专委会报告:气候变化的风险无处不在,但有效应对机遇尚存——气候大幅升温将使应对工作面临多重挑战

主要结论

  • 所有大陆和各大海洋都在受到气候变化的影响。
  • 由于气候变化,几乎全世界的冰川都在持续缩小,影响下游径流和水资源。在高纬度地区和高海拔地区,气候变化正在造成永冻层变暖和融解。
  • 气候变化对农作物产量的负面影响比正面影响更常见。气候变化对很多地区乃至全球的小麦和玉米产量产生负面影响。
  • 气候相关危险直接通过影响生计、农作物产量减少、毁坏房屋以及直接通过粮食价格上涨等因素影响穷人的生活。
  • 在很多情况下,世界对气候变化造成的风险没有做好准备。
  • 应对这些风险的机遇尚存,但大幅升温将使风险难以管理。
  • 气候变化的风险所具有的性质日趋明显,然而气候变化也将继续产生一些预料之外的后果。报告明确了世界各地的脆弱人群、产业和生态系统。
  • 气候变化的风险来自于脆弱性(缺乏准备)和暴露度(处于危害状态的人或资产)与各种危害(触发气候事件或趋势)叠加在一起。在为降低风险采取明智行动时,这三个要素的每一个可作为行动目标。
  • 现在正在开始开展减少气候变化风险的适应工作,但更多注重就过去事件做出被动响应,而不是主动防御未来的变化。
  • 未来气候变化造成的风险在很大程度上取决于未来气候变化量。
  • 气候变暖的幅度不断增长,加大了出现严重和普遍影响的可能性,这些影响也许是出人预料的或不可逆转的。

第三工作组报告:《2014年气候变化:减缓气候变化》

IPCCcover31 报告全文
决策者摘要
新闻稿:气候专委会:尽管努力减排,但温室气体排放仍在加速——通向大幅减排的道路有多条

主要结论

  • 尽管减少气候变化的政策越来越多,但全球温室气体排放已升至前所未有的水平。
  • 2000 年至 2010 年期间的排放增速比之前的三十年中任何一个十年都要快。
  • 通过采取各种技术措施以及行为改变,仍有可能将全球平均温度升高幅度限制在超出工业化前水平 2°C 以内。
  • 通过重大体制和技术变革,更可能使全球变暖幅度不超过上述阈值。
  • 各种设想显示,将全球平均温度上升限制在 2°C 是可能的,这意味着与 2010 年相比,到本世纪中叶要将全球温室气体排放减少 40%至 70%,到本世纪末减至接近零。要实现雄心勃勃的减缓目标,可能甚至需要清除大气中的二氧化碳。
  • 在一切照常的设想中,消费量以每年 1.6%到 3%的速率增长。雄心勃勃的减缓工作会将该增速减少每年约 0.06 个百分点。然而,基础的估计数并没有考虑减少气候变化的经济效益。
  • 要实现大气中温室气体浓度保持稳定,要求能源生产和使用、交通运输、建筑、工业、土地利用、人类住区等部门进行减排。
  • 土地是 2°C 目标的一个重要组成部分。减缓毁林并种植森林,已阻止或甚至逆转了因土地利用产生的排放增加。通过造林,土地可用于吸收大气中的二氧化碳。
  • 也可通过生物质发电与二氧化碳捕获和储存技术相结合的方式实现减排。然而,迄今为止这种组合尚未实现规模化,常年储存在地下的二氧化碳面临着各种挑战,并需要对加剧的土地竞争风险进行管理。

综合报告:将于2014年11月2日在哥本哈根发布。

A Strong Scientific Consensus

There is a strong scientific consensus that the global climate is changing and that human activity contributes significantly to this trend. The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change’s (IPCC) Fifth Assessment Report concludes, with 95 per cent certainty that

the human influence on the climate system is clear and is evident from the increasing greenhouse gas concentrations in the atmosphere, positive radiative forcing, observed warming, and understanding of the climate system.

 Every five or six years, the IPCC conducts a comprehensive report that assesses articles that climate scientists publish in peer-reviewed scientific journals, which is where most of the scientific debate on climate change takes place. Peer review, while not perfect, ensures that journals only accept articles that meet a high standard of scientific rigor and objectivity. Several surveys of the refereed literature on climate change science have confirmed that virtually all published papers accept the scientific basis of human-induced climate change.

The scientific consensus about human-induced climate change is further attested to by a joint statement signed by 11 of the world’s leading national science academies representing Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, Italy, India, Japan, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States. Many other science bodies have issued similar statements.

While the fact that humanity’s emissions of greenhouse gases contribute to climate change is no longer in dispute, scientists continue to investigate how the climate will respond to rising atmospheric levels of greenhouse gases over time and in the various regions of the world.

The latest IPCC assessment report, the fifth, is in the process of being released. There are four parts to the report, on the physical science, impacts and adaption, mitigation, and a synthesis report that brings together the main elements from the first three parts.

Working Group I: Climate Change 2013: The Physical Science Basis

IPCC Climate Change 2013 report

Full Report
Summary for Policymakers
Press Release– Human influence on climate clear, IPCC report says

Major Findings

  • Warming of the climate system is unequivocal, and since the 1950s, many of the observed changes are unprecedented over decades to millennia. The atmosphere and ocean have warmed, the amounts of snow and ice have diminished, sea level has risen, and the concentrations of greenhouse gases have increased.
  • Each of the last three decades has been successively warmer at the Earth’s surface than any preceding decade since 1850. In the Northern Hemisphere, 1983–2012 was likely the warmest 30-year period of the last 1400 years.
  • Ocean warming dominates the increase in energy stored in the climate system, accounting for more than 90 per cent of the energy accumulated between 1971 and 2010. It is virtually certain that the upper ocean (0–700 metres) warmed from 1971 to 2010, and it likely warmed between the 1870s and 1971.
  • Over the last two decades, the Greenland and Antarctic ice sheets have been losing mass, glaciers have continued to shrink almost worldwide, and Arctic sea ice and Northern Hemisphere spring snow cover have continued to decrease in extent.
  • The rate of sea level rise since the mid-19th century has been larger than the mean rate during the previous two millennia. Over the period 1901 to 2010, global mean sea level rose by 0.19 [0.17 to 0.21] metres.
  • The atmospheric concentrations of carbon dioxide, methane, and nitrous oxide have increased to levels unprecedented in at least the last 800,000 years. Carbon dioxide concentrations have increased by 40 per cent since pre-industrial times, primarily from fossil fuel emissions and secondarily from net land use change emissions. The ocean has absorbed about 30 per cent of the emitted anthropogenic carbon dioxide, causing ocean acidification.
  • Warming of the climate system is unequivocal, and since the 1950s, many of the observed changes are unprecedented over decades to millennia. The atmosphere and ocean have warmed , the amounts of snow and ice have diminished, sea level has risen, and the concentrations of greenhouse gases have increased.
  • Climate models have improved since the last assessment report in 2007. Models reproduce observed continental-scale surface temperature patterns and trends over many decades, including the more rapid warming since the mid-20th century and the cooling immediately following large volcanic eruptions
  • Human influence has been detected in warming of the atmosphere and the ocean, in changes in the global water cycle, in reductions in snow and ice, in global mean sea level rise, and in changes in some climate extremes. This evidence for human influence has grown since AR4. It is extremely likely that human influence has been the dominant cause of the observed warming since the mid-20th century.
  • Changes in the global water cycle in response to the warming over the 21st century will not be uniform. The contrast in precipitation between wet and dry regions and between wet and dry seasons will increase, although there may be regional exceptions.
  • The global ocean will continue to warm during the 21st century. Heat will penetrate from the surface to the deep ocean and affect ocean circulation.
  • It is very likely that the Arctic sea ice cover will continue to shrink and thin and that Northern Hemisphere spring snow cover will decrease during the 21st century as global mean surface temperature rises. Global glacier volume will further decrease.
  • Global mean sea level will continue to rise during the 21st century. Under all RCP scenarios, the rate of sea level rise will very likely exceed that observed during 1971 to 2010 due to increased ocean warming and increased loss of mass from glaciers and ice sheets.
  • Climate change will affect carbon cycle processes in a way that will exacerbate the increase of CO2 in the atmosphere.
  • Further uptake of carbon by the ocean will increase ocean acidification.
  • Cumulative emissions of CO2 largely determine global mean surface warming by the late 21st century and beyond. Most aspects of climate change will persist for many centuries even if emissions of CO2 are stopped. This represents a substantial multi-century climate change commitment created by past, present and future emissions of CO2.

Working Group II Report: Climate Change 2014: Impacts, Adaptation, and Vulnerability

Climate Change 2014 - Impacts, Adaptation, and Vulnerability. Volume II: Regional Aspects Full Report
Summary for Policymakers
Press Release: IPCC Report: A changing climate creates pervasive risks but opportunities exist for effective responses – Responses will face challenges with high warming of the climate

Major Findings

  • The effects of climate change are already occurring on all continents and across the oceans.
  • Glaciers continue to shrink almost worldwide due to climate change, affecting runoff and water resources downstream. Climate change is causing permafrost warming and thawing in high-latitude regions and in high-elevation regions.
  • The negative impacts of climate change on crop yields have been more common than positive impacts. Climate change has negatively affected wheat and maize yields for many regions and in the global aggregate.
  • Climate-related hazards affect poor people’s lives directly through impacts on livelihoods, reductions in crop yields, or destruction of homes and indirectly through , for example, increased food prices and food
  • The world, in many cases, is ill-prepared for risks from a changing climate.
  • There are opportunities to respond to such risks, though the risks will be difficult to manage with high levels of warming.
  • The nature of the risks of climate change is increasingly clear, though climate change will also continue to produce surprises. The report identifies vulnerable people, industries, and ecosystems around the world.
  • The risks from a changing climate comes from vulnerability (lack of preparedness) and exposure (people or assets in harm’s way) overlapping with hazards (triggering climate events or trends). Each of these three components can be a target for smart actions to decrease risk.
  • Adaptation to reduce the risks from a changing climate is now starting to occur, but with a stronger focus on reacting to past events than on preparing for a changing future.
  • Future risks from a changing climate depend strongly on the amount of future climate change.
  • Increasing magnitudes of warming will increase the likelihood of severe and pervasive impacts that may be either surprising or irreversible.

Working Group III Report: Climate Change 2014: Mitigation of Climate Change

IPCCcover31 Full Report
Summary for Policymakers
Press Release: IPCC: Greenhouse gas emissions accelerate despite reduction efforts– Many pathways to substantial emissions reductions are available

Major Findings

  • Global emissions of greenhouse gases have risen to unprecedented levels despite a growing number of policies to reduce climate change.
  • Emissions grew more quickly between 2000 and 2010 than in each of the three previous decades.
  • It is still possible, using a wide array of technological measures and changes in behaviour, to limit the increase in global mean temperature to two degrees Celsius above pre-industrial levels.
  • Major institutional and technological change will give a better than even chance that global warming will not exceed this threshold.
  • Scenarios show that in order to have a likely chance of limiting the increase in global mean temperature to two degrees Celsius, global greenhouse gas emissions would have to be lowered by 40 to 70 per cent compared with 2010 by mid-century, and to near -zero by the end of this century. Ambitious mitigation may even require removing carbon dioxide from the atmosphere.
  • In business -as-usual scenarios, consumption grows by 1.6 to 3 percent per year. Ambitious mitigation would reduce this growth by around 0.06 percentage points a year. However, the underlying estimates do not take into account economic benefits of reduced climate change.
  • Stabilizing greenhouse gas concentrations in the atmosphere requires emissions reductions from energy production and use, transport, buildings, industry, land use, and human settlements.
  • Land is a key component for the 2°C goal. Slowing deforestation and planting forests have stopped or even reversed the increase in emissions from land use. Through afforestation, land could be used to draw carbon dioxide from the atmosphere.
  • Emission reductions can also be achieved by combining electricity production from biomass and carbon dioxide capture and storage. However, as of today this combination is not available at scale, permanent underground carbon dioxide storage faces challenges and the risks of increased competition for land need to be managed.

Synthesis Report: To be launched in Copenhagen on 2 November 2014.