Undisplayed Graphic

The Mission was established on 24 February 2000 by the adoption of the Security Council Resolution 1291. The main goals of the Mission are to monitor the implementation of the Ceasefire Agreement and to investigate violations of the ceasefire, to work with the parties to obtain the release of all prisoners of war and to supervise and verify the disengagement and redeployment of the parties' forces.

MONUC medal was established on 2 May 2000. The ribbon has two outer bands of UN blue, representing the UN presence in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC). Inside the two bands, there are two equal bars in yellow, they represent the dawn of peace and prosperity. The dark blue in the middle of the yellow represents the Conge river.

On 28 May 2010, Security Council unanimously adopted Resolution 1925 (2010), extending the mandate of MONUC until 30 June 2010 and decided that from 1 July onwards MONUC shall be referred to as MONUSCO. SCR 1925 reflected the new phase reached in the country. 

Qualifying time of service for the receipt of MONUC/MONUSCO medal is 90 days. The following countries participate in the Military and the Civilian Police component of MONUSCO: Algeria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Benin, Bolivia, Bosnia y Herzegovina, Burkina Faso, Canada, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, China, CoteD’Ivoire, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, France, Ghana, Guatemala, Guinea, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Jordan, Kenya, Madagascar, Malaysia, Mali, Malawi, Morocco, Mongolia, Mozambique, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, Senegal, Serbia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey,  Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States of America, United Republic of Tanzania, Uruguay, Yemen and Zambia.

Prepared by the Department of Peacekeeping Operations
Not an official document of the United Nations
Created: 11 November 2010

UN Medals Home Page | Main Page | UN Home Page