Five new judges of International Criminal Court sworn in

New ICC judges from left: Robert Fremr Anthony T. Carmona Howard Morrison, Olga Herrera Carbuccia and Chile Eboe-Osuji. Photo: ICC

9 March 2012 – Five new judges of the International Criminal Court (ICC) were sworn in today following their election last December at the last session of the assembly of States Parties to the Rome Statute, the treaty that established the court.

Judges Howard Morrison of United Kingdom, Anthony T. Carmona of Trinidad and Tobago, Olga Herrera Carbuccia of Dominican Republic, Robert Fremr of Czech Republic and Chile Eboe-Osuji of Nigeria will serve nine-year terms in the court, which is based in The Hague.

Judge Miriam Defensor-Santiago of the Philippines, who was also elected in December, was not available to take the oath of office today and will be sworn in at a later date.

“As existing and new judges, we will all work together to reinforce the rule of law and continue to develop a system of international criminal justice of which the ICC and its States Parties can be proud,” said the ICC President, Hudge Sang-Hyun Song, in his welcoming of the new judges.

“In doing so, we will always remember the countless people around the world, especially the victims and vulnerable, who look to this Court with hope and expectation for a better, more just future.”

News Tracker: past stories on this issue

International Criminal Court to deliver its first verdict next month

Related Stories