Colombian ratification of nuclear treaty welcomed by Secretary-General

Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon with Colombian President Álvaro Uribe Vélez (file photo)

30 January 2008 – Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon today welcomed Colombia’s ratification of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT), which will enter into force when it becomes law in nine more countries.

In a statement released by his spokesperson, Mr. Ban noted that Colombia is one of 144 States to ratify the Treaty, which outlaws all nuclear explosions and establishes a verification regime to monitor compliance.

Colombia also belongs to the group of 44 nations listed in the Treaty’s second annex which must all ratify the CTBT for it to enter into force. Those countries formally participated in the 1996 session of the Conference on Disarmament, when the Treaty was negotiated, and either had nuclear power or research reactors at the time.

Colombia’s ratification means 35 of those Annex 2 States have ratified. The remaining nine States which have not yet ratified are China, the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (DPRK), Egypt, India, Indonesia, Iran, Israel, Pakistan and the United States.

News Tracker: past stories on this issue

Nuclear test ban pact’s anniversary should spark push for ratification – Ban Ki-moon

Related Stories