مكتب المستشار الخاص لشؤون أفريقيا
العلاقة بين السلام والتنمية الدعم المقدم الدعم الدولي من أجل تنمية أفريقيا الشراكة الجديدة من أجل تنمية أفريقيا الصفحة الرئيسية
 

الدعم الدولي من أجل تنمية أفريقيا

يَّد الأمين العام الشراكة الجديدة من أجل تنمية أفريقيا بوصفها إطارا للتنمية، معتبرا أنه ينبغي للأمم المتحدة أن تضطلع بعدد من الأدوار الرئيسية في دعم الشراكة الجديدة وذلك ما وافقت عليه الجمعية العامة في قرارها A/RES/57/300 المؤرخ 20 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2002. وهذا أمر مهم لأنه على الرغم من أن الشراكة الجديدة ملكية أفريقية وتتألف من مجموعة من الأولويات الإنمائية الأفريقية، فإن أفريقيا ما زالت تحتاج إلى دعم ومشاركة العديد من أصحاب المصلحة

ويتولى مكتب المستشار الخاص لشؤون أفريقيا مسؤولية أنشطة الدعوة العالمية التي تضطلع بها الأمم المتحدة دعماً للشراكة الجديدة. ويقتضي ذلك التعريف بالشراكة الجديدة لدى مجموعة متنوعة من أصحاب الشأن، بما في ذلك الجهات المانحة والمجتمع المدني والقطاع الخاص. ويولي المكتب اهتماما خاصا لتشجيع التعاون بين البلدان الأفريقية نفسها في إطار التعاون بين بلدان الجنوب.

ويتمثل أحد العناصر الحاسمة في دور الدعوة الذي يقوم به المكتب في تشجيع الشركاء الإنمائيين لأفريقيا على توسيع الدعم بطرق شتى منها: الاستثمار الأجنبي المباشر، وزيادة المساعدة، وتحرير التجارة، وتوسيع نطاق الإعفاء من تسديد الديون، وزيادة تمويل ضمان الائتمانات وتقديم الدعم للمؤسسات الصغيرة والمتوسطة الحجم.

وفي عام 2004، أنشأ الأمين العام فريقا استشاريا معنيا بالدعم الدولي للشراكة الجديدة من أجل تنمية أفريقيا. ويهدف تقرير هذا الفريق إلى مساعدة الأمين العام في رصد الدعم الدولي للشراكة الجديدة ويورد بإجمال عددا من التوصيات لمواصلة العمل من أجل دعم تنفيذ الشراكة الجديدة. ويقوم مكتب المستشار الخاص لشؤون أفريقيا بدور الأمانة للفريق الاستشاري.

الفريق الاستشاري المعني بالدعم الدولي للشراكة الجديدة من أجل تنمية أفريقيا

أنشأ الأمين العام الفريق الاستشاري المعني بالدعم الدولي للشراكة الجديدة من أجل تنمية أفريقيا في مؤتمر القمة الذي عقده الاتحاد الأفريقي يوم 6 تموز/يوليه 2004، في أديس أبابا، إثيوبيا. ويعمل الفريق الاستشاري من أجل تلبية الحاجة المهمة المتمثلة في زيادة تعبئة الموارد المالية لتيسير تنفيذ برامج وأولويات الشراكة والتعجيل به.

وتتمثل ولاية الفريق الاستشاري في استعراض وتقييم نطاق الدعم الدولي للشراكة الجديدة من أجل تنمية أفريقيا ومدى ملاءمته، وإجراء حوار مع الشركاء الإنمائيين الأفارقة، بما في ذلك منظومة الأمم المتحدة بهدف تعزيز الدعم للشراكة وتقديم توصيات للأمين العام بشأن الإجراءات التي يتعين أن يتخذها المجتمع الدولي لتعزيز الدعم المقدم لغرض تنفيذ الشراكة.

ويتضمن تقرير الفريق الاستشاري المعني بالدعم الدولي للشراكة الجديدة من أجل تنمية أفريقيا توصيات للأمين العام بشأن الإجراءات التي يتعين أن يتخذها المجتمع الدولي لتعزيز الدعم للشراكة. ويقدم مكتب المستشار الخاص لشؤون أفريقيا الخدمات الفنية الضرورية للفريق.

OSAA banner
International Support for Africa's development
HomeNEPADInternational SupportUN System Support for NEPADPeace-Development Naxus
about OSAAwhats newPrivate sectorCivil SocietyNGO DirectoryReports and PublicationsGA ResolutionsEvents calendarCountry ProfilesGender ResourcesProgress on MDGsUN News on Africaquick linksContact UsUN Home

International Support for Africa's Development

Special Links

Africa's Bilateral & Multilateral Partners

Danish-Africa Commission

Blair Commission for Africa

Africa Progress Panel

Gleneagles: Monitoring the Commitments

African Monitor

DATA (Debt, Aids, Trade, Africa)

The DATA Report 2007

World Bank-Global Monitoring Report 2007

2005 World Summit

African Development Bank

European Union

African Growth & Opportunity Act (AGOA)

Group of 77

South Centre

2002 G8 Summit

2003 G8 Summit

2004 G8 Summit

2005 G8 Summit

2006 G8 Summit

2007 G8 Summit

OECD/DAC

Non-Aligned Movement


Millennium Development Report

TICAD

In endorsing the New Partnership for Africa's Development NEPAD)as the framework for development, the Secretary-General concluded and the General Assembly agreed through resolution A/RES/57/300 of 20 December 2002 that the UN should play a number of key roles in supporting NEPAD. This is important because while NEPAD is African-owned and consists of a set of African-driven development priorities, Africa still requires the support and involvement of many stakeholders.

The Office of the Special Adviser on Africa (OSAA) is responsible for the UN's global advocacy in support of NEPAD. This involves creating awareness about NEPAD amongst a variety of stakeholders, including donors, civil society, and the private sector. OSAA has a particular interest in promoting cooperation between developing countries themselves under the South-South cooperation.

A critical element in OSAA's advocacy role is to encourage Africa's development partners to expand support in various forms: foreign direct investment, increased aid, trade liberalization, extended debt forgiveness, increasing credit guarantee financing and support for small and medium-scale enterprises.

In 2004, the Secretary-General established an Advisory Panel on International Support for the New Partnership for Africa's Development (SAPIS-NEPAD). The SAPIS-NEPAD report aims to assist the Secretary-General in monitoring international support for NEPAD and outlines a number of recommendations for further action to support the implementation of NEPAD. The Office of the Special Adviser on Africa serves as secretariat for SAPIS-NEPAD.

SAPIS-NEPAD

The Secretary-General established the Advisory Panel on International Support for NEPAD at the Summit of the African Union on 6th July, 2004, in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. The Advisory Panel addresses the critical need to increase mobilization of financial resources in order to facilitate and expedite the implementation of the NEPAD programmes and priorities.

The mandate of the advisory panel is to review and assess the scope and adequacy of international support for the New Partnership for Africa's Development (NEPAD), conduct a dialogue with African development partners, including the UN system with a view to promoting support for NEPAD and make recommendations to the Secretary-General on actions to be taken by the international community to enhance support for the implementation of NEPAD.

The Report of the SAPIS-NEPAD Panel contains recommendations to the Secretary-General on actions needed to enhance international support for NEPAD. The Office of the Special Adviser on Africa (OSAA) provides the substantive servicing for the panel.

SAPIS-NEPAD REPORTS

First Report of the Secretary-General's Advisory Panel on International Support for The New Partnership for Africa's Development (NEPAD): From Rhetoric to Action: Mobilizing International support to Unleash Africa's Potential, 3 June 2005 (E) (F)

Second Report of the Secretary-General's Advisory Panel on International Support for The New Partnership for Africa's Development (NEPAD): From Commitments to Results: Moving foward NEPAD Implementation, 13 July 2006 (E) (F)

Monitoring progress by the Donor community in support of Africa

Speaking For African Progress, Panel Kofi Annan Urges Germany To Keep G8 Promises Of Aid To Africa

Financing for Development in Africa- From Abuja to Accra: The journey so far- Abdoulie Janneh, UN USG and Executive Directior, ECA

Monitoring Mechanisms for Tracking the Progress in Implementing the Development Commitments to Africa: A Brief Review, UN -OSAA