unicon Welcome to the United Nations. It's your world.

The Trusteeship Council

The Trusteeship Council was established to provide international supervision to 11 Trust Territories administered by seven Member States, and guarantee that appropriate measures were taken to prepare such Territories for autonomy or independence.

By 1994, all Trust Territories had achieved autonomy or independence, either as autonomous States or by joining neighbouring independent countries. The last to do so was the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands (Palau), administered by the United States, which became the 185th Member State of the United Nations.

Having achieved its task, the Trusteeship Council, which is now made of the five permanent members of the Security Council, amended its rules of procedure and will meet as and where occasion may require.

For further information: The United Nations and decolonization