14 September 2009
Press Release

Department of Public Information • News and Media Division • New York

United Nations Opens Nominations for 2010 Global Contest


Seeking Excellence in Delivery of Public Services


In continuing efforts to promote and support innovations in public service delivery worldwide, the United Nations is calling for nominations for its 2010 Public Service Awards.

The seventh annual United Nations Public Service Awards are open to local or national public organizations as well as public-private partnerships involved in essential service delivery to citizens.  Nominations can be made online at http://www.unpan.org/applyunpsa2010 until 31 December 2009.

Institutions interested in competing cannot nominate themselves.  Instead, they must be nominated by Governments and civil society organizations for their achievements and performance in one of the following categories: improving transparency, accountability and responsiveness in the public service; improving the delivery of services; fostering participation in policymaking decisions through innovative mechanisms; or advancing knowledge management in Government.

“The United Nations has long recognized that effective governance and efficient public administration are central to the global development agenda, and particularly in achieving the Millennium Development Goals,” United Nations Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon said while addressing the 2009 Public Service Awards winners and finalists earlier this year, reminding them that the ingredients for efficient and equitable public service delivery are “commitment, hard work, innovation, talent and technological know-how”.

Established by the Economic and Social Council in 2003 to promote better service delivery by Governments, the United Nations Public Service Awards promote exemplary public service and recognize that democracy and successful governance are built on a competent civil service.  The most prestigious international recognition of excellence in public service, they reward the creative achievements and the contributions of public service institutions to a more effective and responsive public administration in countries around the world.

Award recipients will be selected by the United Nations Committee of Experts on Public Administration.  Winners and finalists for 2010 will receive a trophy and a certificate of recognition during the United Nations Public Service Awards Ceremony and Day on 23 June.

For background information about the United Nations Public Service Awards and past winners, please visit http://www.unpan.org/unpsa.

Contact Information in the Division for Public Administration and Development Management, Department of Economic and Social Affairs: Haiyan Qian, Director, qianh@un.org; John-Mary Kauzya, Chief, Governance and Public Administration, kauzya@un.org; or Adriana Alberti, Coordinator of the United Nations Public Service Awards Programme, +1 212 963 2299, alberti@un.org.

Media contact: Franck Kuwonu, Department of Public Information, +1 212 963 8264, kuwonu@un.org.

* *** *

For information media • not an official record