20 April 2009
General Assembly

Department of Public Information • News and Media Division • New York

Disarmament Commission

2009 Substantive Session

298th Meeting (AM)

Disarmament Commission Elects Vice-Chairmen for current session,


chair of disarmament decade working group


The Disarmament Commission today elected by acclamation Jean-Francis Zinsou of Benin and Johan Paschalis of South Africa as Vice-Chairmen of the Commission for its 2009 Substantive Session.

Mr. Paschalis was also elected by acclamation as Chairman of the “working group on elements of a declaration of the 2010s as the fourth disarmament decade”.

In its resolution A/RES/61/67, the General Assembly, recognizing the urgent need for concerted and more intensive global efforts to reverse the current trend in the field of arms control, disarmament and non-proliferation and conscious of the role that a fourth disarmament decade could play in the mobilization of such efforts, had directed the Disarmament Commission, at its 2009 substantive session, to prepare elements of a draft declaration of the 2010s as the fourth disarmament decade and to submit them for consideration by the General Assembly at its sixty-fourth session.

The Disarmament Commission will meet again at a date and time to be announced.

* *** *

For information media • not an official record