30 September 1998

Press Release



The Security Council this afternoon forwarded to the General Assembly for election, the names of 18 candidates for judges for the three Trial Chambers of the International Tribunal for Rwanda, in accordance with article 12 (d) of the Tribunal's Statute.

Through its unanimous adoption of resolution 1200 (1998), the Council forwarded the following nominations to the Assembly:

Eugénie Liliane Arivony (Madagascar), Pavel Dolenc (Slovenia), Salifou Fomba (Mali), Willy C. Gaa (Philippines), Asoka de Z. Gunawardena (Sri Lanka), Mehmet Güney (Turkey), Aka Edoukou Jean-Baptiste Kablan (Côte d'Ivoire), Laïty Kama (Senegal), Dionysios Kondylis (Greece), Bouba Mahamane (Niger), Erik Mose (Norway), Yakov Ostrovsky (Russian Federation), Cheick Dimkinsedo Ouédraogo (Burkina Faso), Navanethem Pillay (South Africa), Indira Rana (Nepal), William Sekule (United Republic of Tanzania), Tilahun Teshome (Ethiopia), Lloyd George Williams (Jamaica and St. Kitts and Nevis).

The Council took that action following its decision on 18 August to extend the deadline for nominations of judges until 14 September due to a shortfall in the number of candidates nominated. Since then, 22 names had been submitted to the Council.

The election process for Tribunal judges begins with an invitation by the Secretary-General to Member States and non-member Observers of the United Nations to submit up to two candidates for the Tribunal within 30 days of his request. The Secretary-General then forwards the nominations received to the Security Council, which establishes "short lists" by secret ballot, taking into account adequate representation of the principal legal systems of the world.

The candidates, which consist of not fewer than 18 names and not more than 27, are then sent to the General Assembly for final decision. The Assembly will then select nine judges to sit on the court for four-year terms to commence on 25 May 1999. However, as a exceptional measure taken to expedite the Tribunal's work, three of the newly-elected judges will be designated by the Secretary- General to begin work as soon as possible.

The Tribunal is composed of three Trial Chambers, an Appeals Chamber, a Prosecutor and a Registry. It was established by the Security Council on 8 November 1994, and has its seat at Arusha, United Republic of Tanzania.

The full text of resolution 1200 reads as follows:

"The Security Council,

"Recalling its resolutions 955 (1994) of 8 November 1994, 989 (1995) of 24 April 1995 and 1165 (1998) of 30 April 1998,

"Having considered the nominations for Judges of the International Tribunal for Rwanda received by the Secretary-General,

"Forwards the following nominations to the General Assembly in accordance with article 12 (d) of the Statute of the International Tribunal:

"Ms. Eugénie Liliane Arivony (Madagascar) Mr. Pavel Dolenc (Slovenia) Mr. Salifou Fomba (Mali) Mr. Willy C. Gaa (Philippines) Mr. Asoka de Z. Gunawardena (Sri Lanka) Mr. Mehmet Güney (Turkey) Mr. Aka Edoukou Jean-Baptiste Kablan (Côte d'Ivoire) Mr. Laïty Kama (Senegal) Mr. Dionysios Kondylis (Greece) Mr. Bouba Mahamane (Niger) Mr. Erik Mose (Norway) Mr. Yakov Ostrovsky (Russian Federation) Mr. Cheick Dimkinsedo Ouédraogo (Burkina Faso) Ms. Navanethem Pillay (South Africa) Ms. Indira Rana (Nepal) Mr. William Sekule (United Republic of Tanzania) Mr. Tilahun Teshome (Ethiopia) Mr. Lloyd George Williams (Jamaica and St. Kitts and Nevis)"

The meeting, which was called to order at 4 p.m. was adjourned at 4:02 p.m.

* *** *