25 June 1997

Press Release


The Credentials Committee this afternoon recommended that the General Assembly accept the formal credentials of representatives of 183 of its 185 Member States for the nineteenth special session currently taking place at Headquarters.

The Committee took that action by approving without a vote, a draft resolution recommending that the Assembly accept the credentials of the Member States referred to in a memorandum of the Secretary-General dated 24 June.

In other action, the Committee elected Denis Dangue Rewaka (Gabon) as its Chairman for the nineteenth special session. Mr. Rewaka held that post at the Assembly's fifty-first session.

The Member States that have submitted formal credentials are as follows: Andorra, Albania, Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Barbados, Belarus, Bolivia, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Cape Verde, Cote d'Ivoire, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Denmark, Eritrea, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Finland, Ghana, Hungary, Iran, Ireland, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kazakstan, Kenya, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Netherlands, New Zealand, Niger, Norway, Oman, Philippines, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Syria, Thailand, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United States, Uruguay and Uzbekistan.

The credentials of the following Member States, communicated by various means from Heads of Government or Ministers for Foreign Affairs or letters or notes verbale from Permanent Missions, were also accepted by the Committee: Algeria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Belgium, Benin, Bhutan, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, France, Gabon, Gambia, Greece, Grenada, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Honduras, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Italy, Kyrgyzstan, Liberia, Libya, Lithuania, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Nepal, Nicaragua, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Republic of Moldova, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa,

Senegal, Seychelles, Sudan, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Venezuela, Yemen and Zimbabwe.

Also accepted by the Committee were the credentials of the following Member States which have not yet communicated any information to the Secretary-General, but have previously empowered their permanent representatives to represent their respective States in all organs of the United Nations, without limitation as to session: Afghanistan, Angola, Argentina, Armenia, Belize, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Canada, Chad, Czech Republic, Dominica, Estonia, Georgia, Germany, Guatemala, Guinea, Guyana, Iraq, Israel, Kuwait, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Lebanon, Lesotho, Mongolia, Namibia, Nigeria, Pakistan, Rwanda, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Spain, Tajikistan, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Uganda, United Kingdom, United Republic of Tanzania, Vanuatu, Viet Nam and Zambia.

The list of Member States, as orally amended contained in a memorandum by the Secretary-General, was introduced by a representative of the United Nations Legal Counsel.

The nine members of the Credentials Committee, who were appointed by the special session on Monday are: China, Dominican Republic, Gabon, Netherlands, Paraguay, Philippines, Russian Federation, Sierra Leone and the United States. The Committee's role is to examine and report on the credentials of representatives to the Assembly's nineteenth special session.

* *** *