

Group of Experts established pursuant to General Assembly resolution 65/37 A

1. In paragraph 209 of resolution 65/37 A of 7 December 2010, the General Assembly decided to establish a group of experts to be an integral part of the Regular Process for global reporting and assessment of the state of the marine environment, including socio-economic aspects (the "Regular Process"). It requested the members of the Group of Experts, appointed by Member States pursuant to paragraph 180 of General Assembly resolution 64/71 of 4 December 2009, to continue serving on the Group of Experts for the duration of the first phase of the first assessment cycle, and encouraged regional groups that had not yet done so to appoint experts to the Group of Experts in accordance with paragraph 180 of resolution 64/71. Pursuant to paragraph 180 of resolution 64/71, the Group of Experts was to be comprised of a maximum of 25 experts and no more than 5 experts per regional group, ensuring adequate expertise and geographical distribution.

2. In paragraph 224 of resolution 67/78 of 11 December 2012, the General Assembly requested the members of the Group of Experts, who had served in the Group of Experts during the first phase of the first assessment cycle pursuant to paragraph 209 of General Assembly resolution 65/37 A, to continue serving in the Group of Experts for the second phase of the first assessment cycle.

3. As of 31 January 2013, the following members have confirmed their availability to continue serving in the Group of Experts for the second phase of the first assessment cycle.

African States

Mr. Renison Ruwa (Kenya) Mr. Rolph Antoine Payet (Seychelles) Mr. Osman Keh Kamara (Sierra Leone) Mr. Amanuel Yoanes Ajawin (South Sudan) Mr. Joshua T. Tuhumwire (Uganda)

Asia- Pacific States

Mr. Peyman Eghtesadi Araghi (Islamic Republic of Iran) Mr. Kunio Kohata (Japan) Ms. Juying Wang (People's Republic of China) Ms. Hilconida P. Calumpong (Philippines) Mr. Chul Park (Republic of Korea) **Eastern Europe States** Mr. Georg Martin (Estonia) Mr. Jan Marcin Węsławski (Poland)

Latin America and Caribbean States

Mr. Enrique Marschoff (Argentina) Ms. Lorna Inniss (Barbados) Ms. Beatrice Padovani Ferreira (Brazil) Mr. Patricio Bernal (Chile) Mr. Sean O. Green (Jamaica)

Western Europe and Other States

Mr. Peter Harris (Australia) Ms. Saskia Van Gaever (Belgium) Mr. Jake Rice (Canada) Mr. Alan Simcock (United Kingdom) Mr. Andrew Rosenberg (United States of America)