Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf (CLCS)
Members of the Commission


Last updated: 08 August 2014

Members of the Commission Officers of the Commission Subsidiary bodies Privileges and immunities of the members of the Commission

Members of the Commission

    In accordance with the provisions of article 2 of Annex II to the Convention, "the Commission shall consist of twenty-one members who shall be experts in the field of geology, geophysics or hydrography, elected by States Parties to the Convention from among their nationals, having due regard to the need to ensure equitable geographical representation, who shall serve in their personal capacities".

    On 6 and 7 June 2012, the Twenty-second Meeting of States Parties to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea elected 20 members of the Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf for a term of five years, commencing from 16 June 2012 and ending on 15 June 2017. At that time, the election of 1 member of the Commission has been postponed. On 19 December 2012, the Meeting of States Parties elected Mr. Szymon Uścinowicz (Poland) as member of the Commission. His term of office started on 19 December 2012 and will end on 15 June 2017.

    The members of the Commission are:



Name Nationality Curriculum vitae
Arshad, Muhammad (Pakistan) From SPLOS/240
Awosika, Lawrence Folajimi (Nigeria) From SPLOS/240
Carrera Hurtado, Galo (Mexico) From SPLOS/240
Charles, Francis L. (Trinidad and Tobago) From SPLOS/240
Glumov, Ivan F. (Russian Federation) From SPLOS/240
Haworth, Richard Thomas (Canada and United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland) From SPLOS/240
Heinesen, Martin Vang (Denmark) From SPLOS/240
Jaoshvili, George (Georgia) SPLOS/246
Kalngui, Emmanuel (Cameroon) From SPLOS/240
Lu, Wenzheng (China) From SPLOS/240
Madon, Mazlan Bin (Malaysia) From SPLOS/240
Mahanjane, Estevao Stefane (Mozambique) From SPLOS/240
Marques, Jair Alberto Ribas (Brazil) From SPLOS/240
Njuguna, Simon (Kenya) From SPLOS/240
Oduro, Isaac Owusu (Ghana) From SPLOS/240
Park, Yong Ahn (Republic of Korea) From SPLOS/240
Paterlini, Carlos Marcelo (Argentina) From SPLOS/240
Ravindra, Rasik1 (India) Curriculum vitae
Roest, Walter R. (Netherlands) From SPLOS/240
Urabe, Tetsuro (Japan) From SPLOS/240
Uścinowicz, Szymon (Poland) SPLOS/252
1 Mr. Ravindra was elected at the twenty-fourth Meeting of States Parties to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea to fill the vacancy due to the resignation of Mr.Sivaramakrishnan Rajan.

Officers of the Commission


    Mr. Lawrence Folajimi Awosika


    Messrs. Carrera, Glumov, Park and Roest

Subsidiary bodies:

  • Committee on Confidentiality

            Members: Messrs. Heinesen, Kalngui, Marques, Park and Uścinowicz

            The Committee  elected Mr. Park as Chairperson and Messrs. Kalngui and Marques as Vice-Chairpersons.

  • Committee on provision of scientific and technical advice to coastal States

            Members: Messrs. Glumov, Haworth, Oduro, Paterlini and Urabe.

            The Committee elected Mr. Urabe as Chairperson and Messrs. Haworth and Paterlini as Vice-Chairpersons.

  • Editorial Committee (open-ended)

            Messrs. Awosika, Carrera, Glumov, Haworth, Heinesen, Madon, Marques, Oduro, Park, Paterlini, Roest, and Urabe form the core group of that Committee which has an open-ended membership. The Committee elected Mr. Haworth as its Chairperson and Messrs Charles and Paterlini as Vice-Chairpersons.

  • Training Committee (open-ended)

            Messrs. Awosika, Carrera, Charles, Haworth, Heinesen, Jaoshvili, Kalngui, Lu, Mahanjane, Marques, Njuguna, Oduro, Park, Paterlini and Roest form the core group of the Training Committee which has an open-ended membership. The Committee elected Mr. Carrera as its Chairperson and Messrs Park and Roest as Vice-Chairpersons.

Former memberships of the Commission

Prepared by the Division for Ocean Affairs and the Law of the Sea, Office of Legal Affairs, United Nations.

Copyright © 2012 United Nations - Office of Legal Affairs
United Nations All Rights Reserved Worldwide

The use of this web site constitutes agreement with the terms and conditions of use of United Nations web sites.

United Nations Privacy Notice

Oceans and Law of the Sea Home Page

United Nations Home Page

Search Oceans and Law of the Sea site

Comments and suggestions?

Mail to DOALOS