EL SALVADOR

Constitution of 13 December 1983

Article 84

The territory of the Republic over which El Salvador exercises jurisdiction and sovereignty is irreducible and, in addition to the mainland part, includes:

The insular territory made up of the islands, islets adn keys listed in the Ruling of the Central American Court of Justice handed down on 9 March 1917, which, moreover, belong to El Salvador according to other sources of international law; together with other islands, islets and keys that also belong to El Salvador under international law.

The territorial and shared waters of the Golfo de Fonseca, which is a historic bay with the characteristics of an enclosed sea, which is governed by a regime established under international law and as a result of the Ruling referred to in the above paragraph.

The corresponding air space, subsoil and continental and insular platform. Furthermore, in accordance with international law, El Salvador exercises sovereignty and jurisdiction over the sea and its bed and subsoil for a distance of 200 nautical miles, measured from the low-water line.

The frontiers of the territory of El Salvador are as follows:

In the West, the frontier with the Republic of Guatemala, in accordance with the provisions of the Boundary Delimitation Treaty concluded at Guatemala City on 9 April 1938.

In the North and partly in the East, the frontier with the Republic of Honduras, as regards the sections covered by the General Treaty of Peace, concluded at Lima, Peru, on 30 October 1980. With regard to the sections where delimitations is pending, the boundaries shall be those established under the Treaty or, where appropriate, in accordance with machinery for the peaceful settlement of international disputes.

In the East, where the remainder is concerned, the frontier with the Republics of Honduras and Nicaragua, in the waters of the Golfo de Fonseca.

In the South, the boundary formed by the Pacific Ocean.